Ohio State nav bar

Awards & Scholarships

Undergraduate Scholarships and Awards

The Barbara Strutin Schwartz and Stanley Schwartz Scholarship Fund for Arts Management

The Barbara Strutin Schwartz and Stanley Schwartz Scholarship Fund for Arts Management was established in 2019, and funds one $5500.00 scholarships intended to recognize merit and academic promise of students in the Arts Management program in the Department of Arts Administration, Education & Policy at The Ohio State University. First preference shall be given to diverse candidates seeking a career in community arts organizations. In addition, applicants must have junior or senior standing, should demonstrate a strong understanding for the role of arts programming and its possible impact on communities. A GPA of 3.0 or higher is expected. The recipients will be chosen by the Undergraduate Studies Committee in consultation with AM faculty. Your award will be applied to your OSU Bursar’s account the semester it is awarded. Applicants should be aware that current or future financial aid arrangements may be affected by receipt of this award. Download the application and follow the instructions to apply. The application deadline is Friday, October 21, 2023.

The Sara Jane Pyne Memorial Scholarship Fund in the Visual Arts

Established April 3, 1981, with her bequest. Income provides scholarships for deserving students in the following visual arts departments: Art, Art Education, History of Art and Industrial, Interior & Visual Communication Design.

Dr. Beverly Baer Endowed Scholarship Fund for Arts Education

Established February 7, 2003, by William D. and Thomas N. Baer. The annual income shall be used to provide a scholarship to a student majoring in Arts Education. The first preference shall be given to a female student majoring in Arts Education who is permanently disabled. The recipient will be chosen by the Undergraduate/Licensure Committee in consultation with the University Committee on Student Financial Aid. It is the donors' preference that this scholarship be awarded to an American citizen and that this student demonstrates a strong social consciousness for the application and utilization of art for the betterment of society. The second preference is that the scholarship be awarded to a student deemed eligible by the Undergraduate/Licensure Committee or the Graduate Committee in consultation with the Office of Student Financial Aid.

Aida Cannarsa Snow Endowment Fund in the College of the Arts

Established February 7, 2003, from her estate through The Foundation. Income provides need-based scholarships to undergraduates with a major or specialized interest in the Departments of Art, Arts Administration, Education and Policy, History of Art, Theatre or Dance. 

Arts Undergraduate Research Scholarship

The competition is reserved for students pursuing a degree in the arts. Eligible students must plan to complete an arts-based creative or research project before graduation. Awards generally range from $500 to $6,000. Visit the application's instructions page to learn more.

More Undergraduate Funding Opportunities

Graduate Scholarships and Awards

The Marylou and Ernestine Kuhn Memorial Scholarship Fund

Established March 2, 2001 by Dr. Marylou Kuhn. The annual income shall be used to provide scholarships for women graduate students in the Department of Arts Administration, Education and Policy.  This scholarship is typically awarded to one new student in Art Education by the Graduate Studies Committee.  Students cannot apply for this scholarship.  The Graduate Studies Committee makes their selection after all admissions applications have been reviewed.  Current students may be considered under special circumstances.

The Manuel Barkan Endowed Fellowship Fund

Established August 30, 1995, by Theresa (Toby) Barkan Willits through The Foundation. The annual income shall be used to support the academic and living expenses of a graduate student in the Department of Arts Administration, Education and Policy who is completing the dissertation. The fellowship must be used for the final year of writing the dissertation. Applicants will have fulfilled all course work, passed all preliminary exams, and had the dissertation research proposal or plan approved. They will also be full-time students unless work type and hours have been approved by the advisor. With approved outside work, they should devote not less than 50% of time to completion of the dissertation. It is anticipated that the doctoral degree will be received at the end of the fellowship year.

The Lawrence and Isabel Barnett Dissertation Fellowship

The purpose of the Barnett Dissertation Fellowship is to assist advanced doctoral students specializing in Cultural Policy and Arts Management to finish their dissertation and launch their professional careers. Fellowship support will be available each academic year to be awarded to one or more students. The fellowship will cover at least one and no more than two consecutive terms per student depending on the timeline to dissertation defense.  The award will cover tuition, most fees, and provide a stipend for the award period. Interested students must satisfy the eligibility requirements.

CGS Ray Travel Award for Scholarship and Service

The Edward J. Ray Travel Award for Scholarship and Service (Ray Award) encourages and enables graduate students across the university to participate in professional conferences, both in their respective fields and in the broader academic community, by reimbursing or partially reimbursing the expenses incurred by graduate students during travel to conferences and meetings to present original research.

Unlike other programs that grant travel funds, the Ray Award gives substantial weight to the applicant's service to his/her department, the university, and the surrounding community. Ray Award judges also take into account the academic standing of the applicant, the applicant's professional goals, the nature of the conference being attended, and the applicant's ability to convey the focus of their research to a general audience.